Title Format Sponsor
Ijaw Brochure


The Ijaw languages are mainly spoken within the Niger Delta region of Nigeria, specifically in Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers States. Outside of the Niger Delta region, the Arogbo-Ijaw can be found in the riverine area of Ondo State, Nigeria. Many are found as migrant fishermen in camps as far west as Sierra Leone and as far east as Gabon along the Western Africa coastline.

Resource Link
Idoma Brochure


They are primarily found in the lower and western areas of Benue State, Nigeria, and kindred groups can be found in Cross Rivers and Nasarawa States in Nigeria. The Idoma are known to be warriors’ and ‘hunters of class, but hospitable and peace loving. The greater part of Idoma land remained largely unknown to the West until the 1920s, leaving much of the colorful traditional culture of the Idoma intact

Resource Link
Ibibio Brochure


Ibibio are mostly in Southeastern Nigeria, predominately in Akwa Ibom state and is made up of the related Anaang community, Ibibio community and the Eket and the Oron Communities; although other groups usually understand the Ibibio language. Prior to the existence of Nigeria as a Nation, the Ibibio people were self-governed.

Resource Link
3 of 711
Show all
Show free resources only
Show less
Show more
Your search did not return any results. Please change your search criteria.
All LRCs
Previous LRC
Next LRC
In 1990, the Department of Education established the first Language Resource Centers (LRCs) at U.S. universities in response to the growing national need for expertise and competence in foreign languages. Now, twenty-five years later, Title VI of the Higher Education Act supports sixteen LRCs, creating a national network of resources to promote and improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages.

LRCs create language learning and teaching materials, offer professional development opportunities for language instructors, and conduct and disseminate research on foreign language learning. All LRCs engage in efforts that enable U.S. citizens to better work, serve, and lead.

8 Areas of Focus

Each LRC has a unique story and mission, but all LRC work is organized around eight basic areas:
  • Research
  • Teaching materials
  • Digital tools and resources
  • Assessment
  • Professional development
  • Less commonly taught languages initiatives
  • K-12 initiatives
  • Outreach and dissemination

Contact Us

You may also contact each LRC individually by locating their directory information in the Meet the LRCs menu.


The U.S. Department of Education Title VI provides funding for Language Resource Centers. The contents of this website do not necessarily represent the policy of the U.S. Department of Education nor imply endorsement by the federal government.
© Title VI Language Resource Centers